The Lone Star Flag was adopted as the Republic of Texas flag in 1839. The State of Texas adopted the flag in 1844. The flag's colors have symbolic meaning. Red means bravery, white means purity, and blue means loyalty. Early designs of the flag are attributed to many Texans including Joanna Troutman, Sarah Dodson, Charles Bellinger Stewart, and Peter Krag.

Six Flags Over Texas


The Spanish controlled Texas from 1519-1685 and 1690-1821

The French from 1685-1690.

 The Mexican from 1821-1836.

The Republic of Texas from 1836-1845

The Confederacy from 1861-1865.

The United States from 1845-1861 and 1865-present

To Brewster County TXGenWeb Project

The Jeff Davis, Texas web site is hosted and maintained by Betty T. Miller and/or Patsy F. Vinson.